Shymbulak Ski Resort, Almaty Region, Kazakhstan

I’ve recently started a new job, where I get to travel more frequently within Central Asia. It’s been incredibly busy over the last two months, often with very little opportunity to get my camera out or blog about all I get to see and experience.

As it is the equivalent of a bank holiday here in Kazakhstan today, I had no scheduled events to attend and as such was able to also escape my inbox for a few hours to get out into nature and breathe in a bit of fresh air..

We drove to Medeo, where we took the cable car up and over the mountain range until we reached Shymbulak Ski Resort. Stopping for a coffee and a croissant at Paul’s and then headed towards the cable cars again to ascend further into the Tian Shan mountains.

Looking down from the highest peak, I was unable to see Kazakhstan’s old capital through all the smog, so I pointed my eyes (and camera lens) towards the sky to capture a few details for those who weren’t able to appreciate the incredible landscapes with me..

Leave a Reply

