A week in review – Snow White and the Huntsman

The night before Nick & Lisa’s big day! Cameras – CHECK, Batteries – CHECK, Spare batteries – CHECK. Everything cleaned and charged up -CHECK…
Lisa LOVES flowers.. so I made sure I was covered in them!

 After Thursday’s wedding in Newick Park, I’ve been editing like a crazy person trying to get through all the images and pick only the very best to show to the bride and groom. My dad and I worked together for this wedding and although I kind of expected him to start pointing out everything I could improve on (as fathers/teachers do), he didn’t! It really was a photographic match made in heaven and my dad totally had my back covered the entire time, plus he made people feel at ease and comfortable, which for me is always the most important when cameras and people are involved.!

Everything, from Lisa and Nick’s friends, family, colleagues, the decor, the food, EVERYTHING was carefully coordinated and complemented their day perfectly. I know Lisa worked her bootie off and and it all paid off in the end.

At the end of the night Lisa handed me her bouquet as a thank you. Basically, when I work with someone who has their sh&^% together,  who values and appreciates what we do,  the enormous amount of time we put in behind the scenes, I would move mountains for that person.  Lisa is that person.
She kept asking for my input and opinion for different things, and I had to keep reminding her that it was her wedding! Lisa confidently responded. But Nadine, I trust you.
I was floored. This is what I work for. Trust.

I haven’t stopped talking about the day. Lisa is just a truly stunning person. So thoughtful and organized! When working with a bride, she doesn’t just hire you and you turn up on the day. No siree, there is a ton of communication that goes on and during that time, one builds a bond and a relationship with the bride. Over time, you become more like friends. The benefits of this? On the day it feels like you’re capturing a friend’s wedding, the stakes are higher, but you’re doing it with a ton of love. You look at things, kind of through the bride’s eyes. Knowing what she’d like you to photograph, because you know what she likes. Not because she’s handed you a list with 5000 shots to capture..If she’s missing something on the day, you run like hell to get it for her. You would do that for a friend wouldn’t you?
The benefit of Lisa communicating and spending time with me? She felt at ease and comfortable having me around. She trusted me. She could focus on actually being “present” for such a special day in her life, rather than worry about being in control of everything. That was my job.

LOVE her.. Mucho. Mucho , Muuuchoooo.

Can you tell?

Gooorgeous bouquet. I looove it! Thank you doll!

 And I love how Lisa added us to her best friends’ table. AKA THE “NAUGHTY” TABLE

Lisa and Nick are off to Morocco for their honeymoon today!! HOW EXCITING!!
Bon Voyage lovers!! Here’s a little diagram to help you with the packing.. x

On Staurday, my bestie decided to pay Brighton a little last minute visit (from Surrey) and so we got some heels on, went out for a few cocktails, and ended up at an 80’s club night where we sang and danced along to Whitney Houston’s -I wanna dance with somebody, and Toto’s-Africa. (Well, I did the singing [ahem shouting] and K just bopped her head from side to side as she always does.) 

♬♪♩♫♬♪  It’s gonna take a lot to drag me away from youuuuu
There’s nothing that a hundred men or more could ever dooooo
I bless the rains down in Africaaaaaa
Gonna take some time to do the things we never haaaaaaaad

Hurry boy, she’s waiting there for youuuuu

It’s gonna take a lot to drag me away from youuuuu
There’s nothing that a hundred men or more could ever dooooo
I bless the rains down in Africaaaaaa
I bless the rains down in Africaaaaaa
(I bless the rain)  ♬♪♩♫♬♪

( Brilliant night it was! )

My oh my.. What a long arm you have…?! All the better to reach for a cold beer with through hoards of people my dear.

 After waking up on Sunday morning, we felt quite ok, considering we only got in around 3am! We decided to go watch the new (fellow Saffa) Charlize Theron -movie and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was a bit disappointed that Snow White never kissed the huntsman back in the end but hey, like I was saying to K, maybe they’re making fairytale endings more realistic these days, so that little girls can grow up without wishing for someone to save/rescue them..? Not sure..

On a side-note.. Is The Huntsman HAWT or what? Goodness! Grrr…

On our way home we passed the trampoline area (where children usually play) and K suggests we go trampolining for a bit. I said, yeah.. let’s do it! Thing is.. K was joking. I wasn’t. So I went trampolining like a nutter, but it was a ton of fun and I haven’t done it for years! 5 minutes in, I had- had enough. It really takes it out of you, you know?

This morning I feel like I’ve broken a few ribs, my intestines have been shuffled around and every time I breathe it flippen hurts. a lot!

That’s what I get for saying yes to my inner child!lol.

Hope you’re having a fabulous Jubilee weekend filled with lots of blues, whites, reds, cupcakes, Pimms and proudly patriotic friends and family!

If you’re up for getting a bit teary eyed, make sure you watch this:

Have a great week!

N x

Leave a Reply

