{Operation 118} The Healthy(er) Routine…

There are so many days where I feel like there’s just not enough hours in a day. Then I remind myself that I am not the CEO of a Apple and that I do in fact have plenty of time. The only thing is that time can sometimes be wasted. A lot of it.
Over the past long weekend I decided on a whim to take a trip to the “British California” otherwise known as Newquay, Cornwall. I had very little time to do research so I just went ahead and booked a train ticket, a night’s accommodation at a Surf Lodge and ta-DA! 5am on Sunday morning I found myself walking towards Brighton Station, ready to embark on a little 24 hour adventure. Now let me just say, I KNOW> How silly to go all that way for only 24 hours? Ermm I have no excuse, I just wanted to get away from my every day surroundings and go somewhere I haven’t been before.

It was on this 10 hour train journey that I realized JUST how much time is wasted in a day, especially when waking up at 8am and going to bed around 12 at night. Soooo much time gets wasted, online. I find myself forever in front of my laptop, planning, researching, editing, learning and just wasting so much time away from living. On the train, I started writing down what my ideal routine would look like, and I’m making a big change.

 

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
05:00 AM Get Up + Go for an hour long run + Prep for the day ahead Get Up + Go for an hour long run + Prep for the day ahead Get Up + Go for an hour long run + Prep for the day ahead Get Up + Go for an hour long run + Prep for the day ahead Get Up + Go for an hour long run + Prep for the day ahead Sleeping Sleeping
07:00 AM Write and Research Blog Posts + Have Breakfast Write and Research Blog Posts + Have Breakfast Write and Research Blog Posts + Have Breakfast Write and Research Blog Posts + Have Breakfast Write and Research Blog Posts + Have Breakfast Get Up + Go for an hour long run + Get ready for the day + Breakfast Sleeping
09:00 AM WORK + LUNCH WORK + LUNCH WORK + LUNCH WORK + LUNCH WORK + LUNCH WORK/ FRIENDS/ LEISURE TIME Get Up + Have Breakfast + Prep for the day ahead
11:00 AM FAMILY+ LEISURE TIME
01:00 PM
03:00 PM
05:00 PM
06:00 PM WORK/ MEETINGS WORK/ MEETINGS WORK/ MEETINGS WORK/ MEETINGS WORK/ MEETINGS
07:00 PM GET HOME/EAT/CHILLAX GET HOME/EAT/CHILLAX GET HOME/EAT/CHILLAX GET HOME/EAT/CHILLAX FRIENDS + LEISURE
08:00 PM READ/RESEARCH/STUDY/EDIT READ/RESEARCH/STUDY/EDIT READ/RESEARCH/STUDY/EDIT READ/RESEARCH/STUDY/EDIT FRIENDS + LEISURE READ/RESEARCH/STUDY/EDIT
10:00 PM GET READY FOR BED TIME GET READY FOR BED TIME GET READY FOR BED TIME GET READY FOR BED TIME FRIENDS + LEISURE GET READY FOR BED TIME
12:00 PM SLEEP SLEEP SLEEP SLEEP GET READY FOR BED TIME GET READY FOR BED TIME SLEEP

On the aforementioned train journey, I was listening to a few of my favorite podcasts, one of which is FOUNDATION. Hosted by Kevin Rose (Kevin Rose is an American Internet entrepreneur who co-founded Revision3, Digg, Pownce, and Milk.) If you’re a bit geeky, you’d know how majorly awesome this guy is…Anyways, if you have a few minutes free, please watch the podcast below.

Within it, Jesse Jacobs talks about the spiritual side of time management.
He suggests that instead of living a life with a glass that is half full it would be ideal to start the glass empty every day, which means the potential to achieve is limitless. Start each day with a blank page.

I carry a paper notebook with me every day, however my lists are always growing, which means I always feel like I’m drowning in To Do’s. In this podcast Jesse explains that, whenever you start a new day, open a blank, empty page to start with and you’ll begin to live a more liberating life. No distractions. Think about the empty space as an empty mind, and start each day with a blank canvas. I found this pretty exciting and I’ll be applying this to my life from now on.


Foundation 06 // Jesse Jacobs from Kevin Rose on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

