Brighton – Polaroid in the Park – { Why resilience is my best friend }

“Excuse me, can I take your picture please?” Initially I’d say (falsely confident), ensuring there’s a consistent smile on my face.
“Why?, What’s it for?” was the response I got, pretty much every time. Sometimes, genuinely curious, sometimes just blatantly rude.
“Well, uhmm, it’s for you. Free, I mean. I’m doing this because I’m a local Photographer, most of my Marketing is done online, and those who live in my neighborhood don’t even know I exist. So I’ve stepped away from my computer, to meet local individuals and families, take their pictures, post it on Facebook in the next few days, and I’m hoping that when you go on my Facebook page, you’ll stay long enough to Like the page, find your picture, tag it and then maybe download or share it with your friends and family”…-My confidence, intonation, delivery speed and tone very much depended on “the vibe” each person had as I approached them. Let’s just say. (Tip no. 1) Approach individuals and not groups. Group dynamics change people.
You see, I naively thought that, if I asked nicely, everyone would say “YES! OF COURSE! WHERE DO YOU WANT ME TO STAND?”, not factoring in, those people who were having bad days, or who were pressed for time, or who were shy, hungover etc etc…
After the 10th time I faced rejection, I asked myself: “ What’s the lesson I need to learn from this experience ? For how long should I continue eating humble pie, for my direct approach? ” Yes. Believe me, I ask these kinds of questions, in my head, all the time, but in this particular case, my answer was clear and simple.
DON’T TAKE IT PERSONAL.
That’s all. The answer was as clear as the day itself, staring me in the face. To be overly honest, now and then I did feel slightly disheartened, but being an eternal optimist, I got over it quite quickly.
At some point I reminded myself of how DIVA-esque I can also be when someone takes my picture.
Seriously (she says with a Blog banner with 3 images on it, of who?) Anyways- 90% of the time, I really don’t like having my picture taken, I dread it. Not everyone with a camera is capable of extracting beautiful, natural moments…It’s a trust thing. I get it.
Allowing someone you don’t know from a bar of soap, to walk up to you and you saying yes to having your picture taken IS a big deal and DOES take an enormous amount of trust. It was apparent that the decision to accept or decline whichever offer I was about to make, was made within the first few seconds of my potential subjects locking eyes with me. 
(Random Tip No. 2 ) Confidence and a “world can’t get me down smile” is essential in ANY photo session, whether you know your subjects or not. If they avoid eye contact, just smile. It’s not the end of the world. It’s not you. They don’t know you, and if they did, they’d love you.
Sooo, if at first you don’t succeed…? Try and try again. Change/Adjust/Enhance your approach.
And so I did. I moved on. Exuding more confidence and security with every approach. The next and the next until most people couldn’t say: “No”. Those who met my smile with negativity, well let’s just say: I killed them with kindness… and resilience has always been my best friend.
On a VERY different note. The people below, the AWE-SUMM people below, were, uhhmm, how shall I say this…??
Vibrant, zesty, fresh, haPPy, unique, sunny, FUNNY and positive spark plugs. Yup! Thinking on their toes. Stopping in their tracks, mid-work-out (jogging) to hold up my flimsy perspex’esque DIY Polaroid frame. Especially the kids..The kids, you should have been there! They made me laugh so much! I could see they were having a good time. So, with every YES! they (the parents/non parents) gave me, my battery life increased. The energy that bounced off these unique individuals was inspiring to say the least, and those who kept and read the flier I worked so hard on to create (I ain’t no design genius ya know!), those coming from a place of YES, those who tagged themselves and liked my facebook page..?? Those who “got the concept”??
Well, there’s a special place in my heart for you. You encouraged and inspired me to take bigger risks next time and you know who you are. I’m sending you a MAHUSIVE thank you. You seriously Brighton’ed up my day ^_^
Nadine
{Looking back on some of the images, they really made me chuckle! See all of them here }
Please click on the image below to view the full screen version.

“You may grow old and trembling in your anatomies, you may lie awake at night listening to the disorder of your veins, you may miss your only love, you may see the world about you devastated by evil lunatics, or know your honour trampled in the sewers of baser minds. There is only one thing for it then – to learn. Learn why the world wags and what wags it. That is the only thing which the mind can never exhaust, never alienate, never be tortured by, never fear or distrust, and never dream of regretting. Learning is the thing for you” – T.H. White

Leave a Reply

