Composition Feedback {sent by Twitter-er Iain Fuller}

Last week’s post on the basics of composition was really well received. I was pleased to hear that a few people found it really useful and so I’ll try to do some more helpful hints posts in the future.
Iain saw my Blogpost via Twitter and decided to forward me two images he took whilst in Gijon, Spain.
Iain has asked me to provide some feedback.
Here goes…

Looking at this image my eye was immediately drawn towards the boy with the red shirt sitting on the wall. He’s looking away from the action on the court which leads me to believe there’s something else going on. In terms of composition I think this image had some thought put into it (framing with the white bridge in the background), however it could have been slightly better positioned and more thought out.  There are many distractions in this image. The large rock, the football players, the lamp-post, the fence etc. It’s slightly too “busy”. The dark shadow under the boy’s eye, indicates that the sun was not only very bright but above his head (midday-ish). If his head was slightly tilted upwards I imagine his eyes would have been revealed more. I’m not sure what camera was used, however I suspect Iain used film. This image is slightly grainy and “soft” and although the image was taken a week ago, it seems quite dated and flat. Adjusting contrast slightly might make the image “pop” a bit.  If Iain took a step back and lowered his camera, changing the angle, he might have been able to omit the distractions, only showing the boy, the wall he sat on and the bright blue sky. He would still have been able to frame his subject looking into negative space but would have had a stronger image. There was no meta data  available for this image, but my histogram indicated that some highlights were blown.
This image is similar to the image above. It would have been stronger if positioned better and if the camera was slightly lower when taking the shot. Doing so would have resulted in the fence and the people being out of frame.

 In retrospect both images are interesting and have potential. Below are the same images as above. I’ve imported both to Lightroom, cropped and repositioned them slightly and made both images monochrome with an added touch of contrast to add a bit of mystery. If you take pictures just for fun, then I’d suggest you keep clicking. Enjoy it and play around with different angles to have less distractions. If you’re thinking of becoming a professional photographer, I’d say some sort of technical conformity would need to be met in order to have stronger compositions. As you were there you must have had a reason for taking these photos. I would have loved to read a little story to add a bit of context to each image and connect more with it. Rules are there as guidelines in photography. Some follow every rule to perfection whilst others break all of the rules intentionally. Even with my own images I constantly look for and find things I need to improve on. Personally I feel it’s important to be able to take a step back think about WHY we take photographs in the first place, what exactly we want to include and exclude from the image, what we want to focus on  and what we want communicate to the viewer. Once we identify these things, composition will help present the story better and make our images much stronger.


Thank you for sharing your images with me and those who read the blog. It’s been interesting and a challenge to try and imagine what your thought process was when taking these images. Please keep in mind that my opinion is only an opinion and more likely what crosses my mind when composing a shot. This in no way is the only way. Keep at it, keep snapping and keep having fun! We’re all here to learn and my opinion is only one opinion. I’d love to see your flickr stream and more images if you have any. 🙂 You’re in such an amazing country at the moment, make the most of it!

Thanks Iain https://twitter.com/iainjfuller

Happy Monday! x

Leave a Reply

